Thursday, 22 February 2018
greek english french
Home arrow Foreign Policy arrow Greece in the EU arrow Interregional Cooperation

Interregional Cooperation

The Union for the Mediterranean is the new institutional framework for Euro-Mediterranean cooperation adopted at the Paris Summit Meeting (13 July 2008). It is, in essence, the evolution of the Barcelona Process in a new format, with the participation of the 27 EU member states and 16 Mediterranean and Middle Eastern countries. It provides for the strengthening of the participation of Mediterranean partners and emphasizes the implementation of regional programmes with development, environmental and immediate practical benefits for the peoples of the Mediterranean. As a European policy it is part of the European Neighbourhood Policy (southern dimension).

One new aspect of this renewed format is the establishment of a Secretariat responsible for promoting regional programmes – with the participation of the private sector – that are the primary goal of the Union for the Mediterranean.

From the very outset, Greece supported the creation of the Union for the Mediterranean and pursued participation in its Secretariat, where Greece is represented in the position of Deputy Secretary General for Energy.


Stakeholders Conference
"Towards a Roadmap for Blue Investment and Jobs in the Mediterranean"(Athens, 27/05/2015)

Last Updated Monday, 18 January 2016