Sunday, 9 May 2021
greek english french
Home arrow The Ministry arrow Structure arrow Crisis Management Unit

Crisis Management Unit

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs assists the Greek citizens who are abroad, in emergency situations, such as natural and man-made disasters, accidents, and other issues of a consular nature, through its Consular Missions.

Τhe Crisis Management Unit, which operates at the Ministry, has the mission to deal with humanitarian and consular emergencies with international aspects, in coordination and cooperation with other competent Authorities.

The Unit functions as a coordinating body between the services of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and other Ministries. In emergency situations it is activated and operates on a 24-hour basis, providing the necessary organizational support to the services of the Ministry involved in dealing with these situations.

In addition, it facilitates the communication of the Diplomatic Missions of other countries accredited in Athens with Greek competent Authorities, in cases of emergency where their nationals are involved.

Institutional Framework

The operation of the Crisis Management Unit is provided for in article 14 of the Foreign Ministry Statute (Law 3566/2007) and its organization is more specifically regulated by a Ministerial Decision (Π23ΜΔΚ-28804/ΑΣ 14434/15.12.2009).

Moreover, while the primary responsibility for consular assistance and handling of emergency situations of a consular nature is national, the provision of consular protection is a mutual obligation of the Member States of the European Union and is provided for in Article 23 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, as well as in Article 46 of the Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union.

Consular assistance in emergency situations

Consular assistance to Greek citizens abroad is provided by Greece’s Consular Missions abroad.

If Greece is not represented in a third country, consular protection for Greek citizens is provided by the authorities of any member state of the European Union.

Last Updated Friday, 18 December 2020