Monday, 17 May 2021


International Civil Aviation organization

The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) consists of 191 member states and is a specialized agency within the United Nations system. The strategic objectives of ICAO are: (a) safety; (b) air navigation capacity and efficiency; (c) security and facilitation; (d) economic development of air transport and e) environmental protection.

ICAO’s headquarters are located in Montreal. The organization was established in 1947 as a result of the Convention on International Civil Aviation signed in Chicago on December 7, 1944, by 52 states (known as the Chicago Convention, valid since April 4, 1947 / Greece was one of the 52 initially Contracting Parties). The Chicago Convention is the Statute of the Organization. On this basis, ICAO is composed of three bodies: (a) the Convention; (b) the Council; and (c) the Secretariat. The Head of the Organization is the President of the Council and the Secretary-General.

The Permanent Representation of Greece to ICAO, established in 1989, is monitoring the work of the Organization and the Council as an observer.

Last Updated Friday, 12 May 2017