Thursday, 22 March 2018
greek english
Permanent Representation to NATO
Home arrow Permanent Representation to NATO arrow Greece in NATO arrow The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

NATOThe North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) was established in April 1949 by the following founding members: Belgium, France, Denmark, Great Britain, the United States, Iceland, Italy, Canada, Luxembourg, Norway, the Netherlands, and Portugal.

Greece joined NATO in 1952, along with Turkey. Subsequent enlargements saw the accession of the Federal Republic of Germany, Spain, Hungary, Poland, the Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Albania and Croatia.

On the occasion of the 60th anniversary of Greece’s accession to NATO (18 February 2012), the Alliance’s Secretary General, Anders Fogh Rasmussen, visited Athens, and events marking the anniversary were held both in Greece and abroad.

Last Updated Monday, 25 November 2013


Visit Greece

Visit Greece | The Official website of the Greek Tourism Organisation

Golden Visa Programme

Σπουδές στην Ελλάδα - Study in Greece

Educational and Cultural Tourism-Routes in Greece

RSS 2.0